My Top 10 NKOTB songs :)

Inspired by my friend Maxine’s recent blog entry (), I’ve decided that in honor of my first NKOTBSB show on Tuesday in Nashville, I’m going to do a countdown of my top 10 favorite New Kids on the Block songs. I can’t write about my top 10 favorite BSB songs since I don’t think I even know 10 of their songs…. haha!

Being a New Kids fan for 23 years, this is gonna be hard to pick my 10 favorites… it’ll probably take me hours to write this! However, picking my #1 favorite song isn’t difficult at all.

1. It is and always has been “I’ll Be Loving You (Forever).” (1988) As a Jordan girl from day one, this probably doesn’t surprise anyone but I shall still explain why this song is my favorite. 😉 See, the first time I saw a picture of NKOTB, immediately I decided Jordan was my favorite. And then, I discovered that his voice was the beautiful falsetto singing “Tell me you’ll stay” on “Please Don’t Go Girl.” And when I heard “I’ll Be Loving You (Forever)” the first time, I was blown away by his vocal talent. Over the years, the song has come to mean more and more to me. The first time I heard it after my first reunion concert in October 2008, on the drive home, I burst into tears at the line: “We’ve come too far to ever turn back now… this love will last forever…” It struck me in that moment how that line describes New Kids and their fans. This love really WILL last forever. 😀


The song means even more to me after my 5* show in Greenville, S.C., on St. Patrick’s Day 2009 because Jordan sang part of it to me, which, honestly, was a long-held dream come true. I will never forget how he pointed to me and I was like “ME??” and he nodded and smiled. *sigh* Alas, there is no video of this that I’ve ever seen. Nor pictures. My friends and I were too busy fangirling out, I suppose. 😉

Anyhoo…. on to the other 9…..

2. I thought long and hard about this and finally came to the decision that my second favorite NKOTB song is “Let’s Try It Again” (1990). Obviously, I’m a sucker for ballads. And I have always loved Jordan and Danny’s voices on the same song. This song is so beautiful and heartfelt, I wish it had been a bigger hit. And if I ever saw it live again, I would probably Freak. Out. Side note: I looove Jordan’s floppy hair and checkerboard shirt on this performance:

3. “Dirty Dancing” (2008). I defy anyone to hear this song and not wanna dance. It’s brilliant. The music is funky, the lyrics are dirty ;), the song is just simply one of their best, ever. This video is from the St. Patrick’s Day 2009 show. Those idiots who look like they’re dancing on trampolines in the second row are me, my BFF Angi and twin sister Amy. We were a wee bit excited!! (PS- I have lost 35 pounds since then!)

4. “The Right Stuff” (1988). Let’s face it. “Step by Step” may be New Kids’ biggest selling single but “The Right Stuff” is really their most iconic song. The “oh oh oh oh oh”s, the dance, the addition of “Hey, hey, I feel all right” to the end (thank God they brought that back… wooo!!!)…it’s phenomenal. I can’t believe this song didn’t go to #1. It should have but then my favorite song wouldn’t be their first #1. 😉
I love the new performance for the NKOTBSB tour & how it integrates all the old school moves:

5. “Never Let You Go” (1994). Face The Music is such an underrated album… if it had been given a fair chance, I know it would’ve been a massive hit. The music was perfect for the time period, and this was always my favorite song on the album. The song is sexy, grown-up, real. And perfect for Jordan’s voice. I loved the song even before I saw the video, which as a Jordan girl, speaks for itself….
All I can say is…. DAMN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6. “Stare At You” (2008) I can’t lie… this wasn’t always in my top 10. But, when the guys performed it on their Full Service tour in the summer of 2009, I squealed like a 13-year-old. And, it gained even more meaning for me when my sister Amy and I sang it (a capella, for God’s sake) for Jordan and Grammy-winning producers at Jordan Idol Atlanta in November 2009. I sang Jordan’s part and I don’t know what possessed me to do that, but my best memory of that performance is when we changed the words to “I’m your lady” in the chorus, Jordan yelled “YEAH!!!” I glanced over and he was waving his arms in the air like he just didn’t care. Lol. When we finished he gave me the biggest hug and I remember walking down the stairs off the stage and we had our arms around each other and were laughing because we were so happy… he was so sweet and so amazing. And I think of that every time I hear this song now…

7. “Please Don’t Go Girl” (1988) Of course, I have to include the first song I ever heard New Kids on the Block sing! I will always remember that when my mom bought us a “16” magazine and we saw their picture, Amy and I both exclaimed, “They’re white!” True story! And from that moment on, our lives would never be the same. I will never forget that we saw them moving for the first time on Soul Train… When I saw Jordan singing and dancing, I was even more smitten than before! I wish I could post that but can’t find it on YouTube. So here’s the original video, that cost something like $5,000 to make. Or was it $500? Oh well, the plastic daffodil, Joe’s red sweatpants, Jordan freezing in the snow in his flimsy denim jacket… Good stuff. 😀

And just to show how far they’ve come (and how amazing they still are), here’s a performance from Monday, June 13, 2011:

8. “My Favorite Girl” (1988) This song is a classic. It will never get old to me. I still can’t help but dance to it and sing along every time I hear it. I hope they do it for the rest of their lives. I love the more recent performances with Bell Biv DeVoe’s “Poison” added in but the classic version from “Hangin’ Tough” is good too. 🙂 “New Kids get busy!!”

9. “Valentine Girl” (1990)/”Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind?)” (1986)>” Since they now perform these songs together, I can put them as one, right?? Is that cheating? 😀 Honestly, back in the day, “Valentine Girl” was not one of my favorites. In fact, I damn near hated it. I thought it was cheesy, which it is, BUT in 2008, when I first listened to the Greatest Hits album that they put out before The Block, OMG I fangirled out. It’s a sweet song… and again, Jordan and Danny just do it for me. 😀 I wish Danny had more leads… “Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind)?” has always been my favorite off the first album. We all know the cheesiness of the first album knows no bounds. But, this song was a classic and New Kids made it even better than the original.
And, today’s performances with the fedoras and suits… PERFECTION. This is from my first show of the reunion (though not my video), Charlotte, N.C., Oct. 30, 2008….

10. So tough to decide but I think I’ve finally decided… “Dirty Dawg” (1994). People FAH-REAKED OUT when this song came out, thought New Kids were trying to be “hard.” Guess what? This is who they are and have always been. They grew up on the streets of Dorchester, not some suburban neighborhood. They were put together by a guy who used a broomstick for a cane, they were not “manufactured.” They’re tough kids. Jordan was a damn graffiti artist before New Kids! Anyway, this song… (I digressed for a moment, forgive me) as someone who’s been cheated on, and in my crazy younger days, done some cheating of her own, I identify with this song. I know how it feels to be cheated on by someone you love, and I know that girls do it, too. This video ROCKS.

And there you have it, folks! My top 10 favorite new songs… it only took me 4 hours!! I wonder how long it would take me to figure out my all-time favorite top 10 songs. Hmmmm….

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 NKOTB songs :)

  1. Excellent blog! I would have a hard time choosing, given that I not only have the complete NKOTB library, but also every JoeMac, Jordan, and DWood album. I would have to probably come up with my top 50 songs!

Leave a Reply

