Call me crazy….

I know some people will think I have totally lost my mind. Hell, I wonder sometimes myself if I have.

Today, I bought a ticket to Jordan Knight’s show in Detroit. Yes… Detroit. And I live in North Carolina. Why on earth would I buy a ticket to a concert that’s so far away, you might wonder.

Well, earlier this year, I think it was March or April, Jordan did a special appearance/meet & greet in Detroit that didn’t even include a live performance and I wanted to go there for that! I’ve never even been to Detroit so it’s not that I have fond memories or have fallen in love with the city at some point, like I have with Nashville and NYC. I’m not sure why I wanted to go so bad, unless it’s because Jordan is my favorite New Kid and always has been, and I REALLY wanted to see him because at that time, I hadn’t seen him since June 2010 in NYC, and I hadn’t met him since November 2009. Maybe that’s enough reason!

But more than that, believe it or not, I’d made a very good friend over Twitter, named Jackee (formerly of @BrokeCuzOfNKOTB fame… lol. She now goes by @JackeeTM). I really wanted to hang out with Jackee and she said if I came to Detroit, I could go with her and stay at her place for free. But, back then, flights to Detroit were over $500. :-O In other words, not doable for me! You also had to win tickets to the meet & greet/appearance, and I’ve never been very lucky at those things.

So fast-forward to the present. In addition to Jackee, I now have several other friends that are in the Detroit area- Laila (@Layss13), who’s hilarious btw, Jen (@punkyjen), and another Jen (@867_53_09)- all of whom I have met on Twitter. When Jordan (@jordanknight… ahaha) first announced that he was doing a solo show in Detroit, immediately these girls told me I should come. And immediately I thought back to how ridiculously expensive plane tickets were the last time I checked. So I checked again, and as the announcement got closer, amazingly, the prices went down. They are a little over $300 now, which is high, but not nearly as bad as it was.

I told myself if the show was on a Saturday, I should go and do it. You only live once, right? So when Jordan announced this morning that the show is indeed on a Saturday, Nov. 12, I thought “That’s it. I’m going.” But then I found out tickets went on sale TODAY at 5 p.m. My pay day was last Friday and I don’t have a lot of extra money at the moment so I was like, “Well, CRAP. Guess I’m not going!”

As the day went along, however, I discovered tickets are only $30. MUCH more doable!!! πŸ˜€ So, I decided if I was able to log on to the site and get a ticket, it was meant to be. And after a few annoying hiccups, I got my ticket. πŸ˜€

I was VERY excited!!!! Giddy, even. As my tweets will attest. I’m ecstatic to finally see “One More Night” live, to finally see a Jordan solo show at all. I never got to go to one back in the day, and had a ticket to his “Unfinished” CD release party in NYC, but had to sell it. IF I end up having to sell this ticket, I am going to be devastated!!!! And I’ll probably never try to buy a ticket for anything he does again!!! 😦

But I am determined to make it there. My wonderful Detroit friends are determined that I make it there. I wish I could get a VIP and talk to Jordan, since I am coming from so far away to see him. But, if the rumors are true, VIP is $250, and I really can’t afford it. Very disappointing. 😦 Hopefully, just a rumor.

So, am I crazy? Maybe. But I think seeing an amazing show and finally meeting my great Twitter friends in Detroit will make it worth it all. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Call me crazy….

  1. You are crazy!! Haha, kidding. πŸ™‚
    I’m so happy for you! I would have done the same if I had been you and I had had enough money. $30 is very reasonable, but, hey, I hope $250 for the meet & greet is just a rumor, too!!
    I hope you’ll be able to talk to Jordan in Detroit!!! GO ABBY!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

