Favorite Music- Part 3

Yep, this is definitely becoming a weekly blog. I’ve got a LONG list of favorite songs and I could probably keep this going forever! 🙂 Music is such a big part of my life… if I wasn’t a writer (and had any musical talent whatsoever) I would probably make a career out of it somehow. Well… I did sing a capella in front of Jordan Knight but I must’ve gone temporarily insane. In fact, let’s not talk about that. 😀

So, speaking of the man I adore, I’ll start off with him as always! Here’s a 3-in-one, starting with one of my all-time favorite songs, which I was THRILLED that he remade, “Tender Love.” In this particular video taken by a Twitter friend (@divadenice) at his solo show in New Bedford, Mass., in August, his amazingly beautiful version of “Tender Love” is followed by my all-time favorite #1 song in the history of the world, “I’ll Be Loving You Forever,” and finally, his amazingness knows no bounds on “Inside,” off his new album, “Unfinished.” This performance of these three songs makes me feel all aflutter, I ain’t gonna lie!!!

“Tender Love”- Jordan Knight (bonus awesome also favorite songs: “I’ll Be Loving You Forever” and “Inside”)

Here’s him singing it on QVC…. I so wish it hadn’t been interrupted!!!

Aaand here’s a song I forgot on my top 10 favorite NKOTB songs this summer. It’s never been a single and I’ve never seen them perform it live. If I did see them sing this live, I would probably liquefy.

“Don’t Cry”- New Kids on the Block

(P.S.- If I could, I would take the sunglasses Jordan is wearing in this, jump up and down on them until they were in tiny pieces and then take a sledgehammer to them. 😀 )

And I know this song was originally done in the 80s but I actually prefer this remake by 311. :-O Such simple, yet beautiful lyrics… and this video is pretty dang cool, too. Every time I hear this song, it’s one of those moments I gasp and turn into a girl. 😉

“Love Song”- 311

Okay, one more love song that makes me turn into a girl and then I’ll move on to some more upbeat music….

“Whenever Wherever Whatever”- Maxwell

(Wow… so these were his crazy fro days… still nobody sings like Maxwell… LOVE him!!!)

This next song, I first heard when I was driving to Charlotte for a date earlier this year and I fell in love with it (this song, not the date….lol). I love the music, the lyrics, and the fact that on the 2011 NKOTB cruise, they played this song every time New Kids appeared onstage. WOOHOO!!!! That just made me love the song even more than I already did and I already loved it a hell of a lot.

“Rocketeer”- Far East Movement featuring Ryan Tedder

I realized I haven’t used one of my favorite artists in one of these blogs yet. So, here’s a happy, upbeat, beautiful song… my favorite by the one and only Jack Johnson. His music makes me think of when I lived in Wilmington and worked at Wrightsville Beach, which is about the time I discovered his music. And this song, for some reason, makes me think of my granddaddy, who meant a lot to me. I miss him every day. 😦

“Constellations”- Jack Johnson

Here’s a song I only fairly recently discovered, thanks to my beloved twin sister. 😀 David Gray has such a unique, interesting voice and I had heard his big hit, “Babylon,” but hadn’t heard this song up until the past few years. I love the lyrics and I think they actually almost describe *that* feeling when you really feel that close connection with someone and don’t know what to say or do about it: “like lightning running through my veins every time I look at you.” Damn, wish I had written that!

“Please Forgive Me”- David Gray

Aaaand finally, I’m gonna end with a bang. My favorite dance track at the moment, maybe ever…. this song always makes me wanna dance and gets me in a great mood…

“DJ Got Us Falling in Love” – Usher

So dance dance like it’s the last last night of your life…. love it.

Okay, I guess that’s enough for this week. So many more songs that mean so much to me to go!!! I hope y’all are enjoying this as much as I am. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Favorite Music- Part 3

  1. LOVE all these songs!! I have the wonderful Jill Kamphefner to thank for my interest in David Gray. if not for her, I never would have heard him because I didn’t like “Babylon” at first. She gave me a lot of music to love actually, including 311 as well. 🙂 I prefer their version of Love Song also. Good stuff folks, good stuff.

  2. I love “DJ Got Us Falling In Love”! It’s so catchy and I always love this kind of music! 🙂
    I’m not a good dancer, though…Lol.

  3. I love your song choices! “DJ Got Us Falling In Love” always puts me in a dancing mood (so does “OMG”) and David Gray’s music can be so heartbreaking! Anyway, I really wanted to let you know that I cracked up laughing when you said you wanted to stomp Jordan’s glasses to smithereens — I feel EXACTLY the same way about pretty much every pair of sunglasses he’s worn since the New Kids broke up. It’s like his eye for a decent pair of shades died when he turned 25 or something. I thought his sunglasses during the cruise this year were a lot better, but I know he’s on the verge of breaking out the old ones anytime now. Probably during “Let’s Go Higher” in Detroit … how’s your aim? 😉

Leave a Reply

