GUTGAA TAG!!

Bear with me… I am new to the world of writers’ blogs… After two different Twitter friends GUTGAA tagged me, I finally realized what I am supposed to do! I’m slow, I tell ya. Lol! So here are my answers to the GUTGAA tag questions…

-What is the working title of your book?

The current title is GOING HOME AGAIN. I have thought about changing it but not entirely sure what I would change it to. After the tons of rewrites I’ve done, I’m not sure GOING HOME AGAIN still fits the story. But we’ll see… 🙂

-Where did the idea for your book come from?

*sigh* This is slightly embarrassing but I should be honest. My name is Abby and I’m a Blockhead. That means I’m a fan of New Kids on the Block… I’m not embarrassed by that. What is embarrassing is where the idea for GHA came from. In 2008, when I first started this book, NKOTB started their reunion tour. Back in the day, I never got to meet them or even get close but now I was in my 30s & the guys are a lot more accessible than they were to me when I was 15. So, after the first concert of the reunion that I went to, I was able to FINALLY get close to my favorite New Kid, Jordan Knight. I was in the parking garage where the tourbuses were & I turned around & he was RIGHT THERE. He gave me this adorable smile & looked me right in the eyes & said, “Hey!” It was especially meaningful to me because he never even glanced at me back in the day. I could never get his attention at concerts. He was untouchable & seemed so perfect to me. This made me realize, of course, he’s just a guy, despite how I’d idealized him when I was a teenager. So then I thought, what if a girl like me met a guy like him later in life & they were attracted to each other? And, the story of Alyssa Jones and Michael Day was born.

– Which genre does your book fall under?

Women’s fiction/chick lit. At first, I called it a contemporary romance but now I think I mislabeled it.

– Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Obviously, Michael Day is inspired by Jordan Knight. He’s not a great actor; singing is definitely his greatest talent but it’s hard to imagine anyone else as Michael Day. He’s gotta be tall, dark, handsome & mysterious, whoever he is!

This guy would probably work! 😉

As for Alyssa, I see someone like Rachel McAdams. Love her! 🙂

– Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I would really love for it to be represented by an agency, become a bestselling phenomenon & put chick lit back in the mainstream. I don’t have big dreams, I know. 😉

But, if I’ve exhausted all other efforts, I may self-publish it just so I can share the story with the world.

– What is the one-sentence short synopsis of your book?

Alyssa Jones spent her high school years yearning for even a glance from her crush, Michael Day. Twenty years later, she gets her chance to “get the guy.” Only problem: he’s married. And a pop superstar.

Okay, so I ignored the “one sentence” part & stuck with “short synopsis.” :p

– How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

OMG, almost four years!! It’s been through numerous rewrites. I only finished it earlier this year.

-What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I think most women can identify with Alyssa… Even if you didn’t have an unrequited high school crush, there’s probably “the one that got away,” who you always wondered “what if…?”

Here are my tags for my fellow GUTGAA writers!

@twisted_writer, Amy Cavenaugh, my twin sister & thriller writer extraordinaire! 😀

@KLennonWrites, Kyra Lennon, my critique partner

@KarmasDogma, Karma Brown, my other critique partner

TAG!!! YOU ARE IT!!!!

20120908-101604.jpg

<a

4 thoughts on “GUTGAA TAG!!

  1. Wow! That sounds fantastic! I would definitely read a book like that. I hope it does get published someday (and that it puts chick lit back on the publishing radar, because I like to read AND write it).

    P.S. I loved NKOTB, too! And, yes, they seemed like these totally untouchable superstars. So cool that you and Jordan Knight had a moment.

Leave a Reply

