There’s more to life than New Kids on the Block

I debated writing this blog for a long time, but it is increasingly getting on my nerves lately, how some Blockheads act as if New Kids on the Block are the be-all, end-all of their existence. They are a MUSIC GROUP, people. They are not your husbands, nor will they likely ever be. I can say this because, I admit, I used to be a little crazy myself, and they meant EVERYTHING to me. They still mean a lot to me, and they always will. But, I have the power to make my day, not whether or not I get a tweet from one of them, which let’s face it, only happens .00000001% of the time.

Don’t get me wrong. It is an amazing feeling when one of them notices you on Twitter (in person, even better). I have been tweeted or DM’ed by all five, and am followed by Jordan Knight and Danny Wood. Does that define my existence? No. Is it a great thing that I am truly thankful for? Yes. But if you’ll notice, my Twitter bio does not say I’m Jordan’s #31 or Danny’s #1099, because there’s so much more to me than a celebrity following me. And, although New Kids do have a special relationship with their fans, they are still celebrities, with a job to do. Just because they don’t tweet you, it doesn’t mean they’re ignoring you or hate you. (I’ve said these very words about Jordan Knight, so I know, believe me!!!) They get thousands of tweets (probably about 500 from the same person who spams them and then gets all the attention). I’m sure it’s hard to see everyone. I think Jordan only follows me because when he first started following fans, he only had 20,000 or 30,000 followers. I was a lot easier to see than I am now amongst almost 200,000, not to mention the nearly 2,500 he follows. There’s a lot of BHs on top of me… it’s hard to breathe down here. 😀 (my lame attempt at humor)

What I’m trying to say, and maybe not getting across is, there’s no point in feeling miserable if you can’t spend thousands of dollars on the NKOTB cruise (I can’t), or a couple hundred on going to Canada to see Jordan’s final solo shows (again, I can’t). It doesn’t mean you are less of a fan than those the guys tweet often (you know who they are), who show up at every. single. event. And I hope the guys understand that, too, though sometimes I wonder.

I’m increasingly annoyed with Jordan Knight these days, because all he’s been talking about is the Canadian tour, and there are very few of us who can go. I understand being excited about it, trying to sell tickets, but good lord. Enough already. I had to turn off my text updates for his tweets because I couldn’t stand it anymore. Talk about something else!!! At least a few tweets about the weather or (God forbid) the new NKOTB album interspersed with the whoring out of the Canadian tour.

Also, the NKOTB cruise… I can’t afford it right now. No way. No how! I’m hoping to book later (or at least I was, before Jordan Knight annoyed the ever-living crap out of me) Just because I didn’t book it yet, again, it doesn’t make those who did any better than me.

For the life of me, I will never understand why New Kids and Blockheads latch on to about 15-20 other Blockheads (You know who they are if you’re a BH on Twitter, I ain’t even gotta say their names) and deem these OTHER FANS some kind of authority. They are no better than you. Or me. I wish I could get that through to some people. And the two who blocked me when they don’t even know me, it especially bugs me to see them RTed in my timeline. They’re not funny, they’re not pretty, they’re not special. At least not any more so than every Blockhead, or every woman, is special.

This rambling blog, I hope, explains why I am taking a break from my @abs1399 page for a while, and to a certain extent, from New Kids. I think I need time away from them so I can appreciate them again, and not feel as annoyed with them. Or perhaps I’m just PMSing. 😛

3 thoughts on “There’s more to life than New Kids on the Block

  1. LOL… I feel ya, I really do 🙂 I have only been on Twitter for about 6 months but have been a die-hard fan for 23+ years. I didn’t wanna give in to Twitter and while it is pretty cool to be “closer” to them in a weird sense, it’s quite an overload. I don’t know how some girls have the time to be on it ALL day 😉 (@jlvevents)

  2. thank you for posting this. I will admit that it does feel like they are ignoring but I believe everything else that you have said.

Leave a Reply

