The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I think most of you probably know that I’m entering contests and querying agents like crazy lately, so that I can publish my contemporary romance novel, “Going Home Again.” My darling twin sister tagged me in this blog hop, and apparently I’m supposed to answer these questions about my work in progress. Should be interesting since I haven’t shared much about it with too many people. I actually haven’t worked on it in weeks, because I’ve been so focused on getting “Going Home Again” ready to query and stuff. The WIP is tentatively titled “Old Maid,” and is the story of a woman in her late 30s and her struggles with being single and childless.

Where did you get the idea for your book?
From my life. Haha! I’ve actually taken some of my real-life single 37-year-old experiences and embellished a few, changed incriminating details, injected some humor… at least I hope people think it’s funny!

What’s the genre of your book?
Contemporary women’s fiction/chick lit.

Which actors would you choose to play the characters in your movie?
You know, I have no idea who would play my heroine, Adrienne. I would want someone realistically sized, which would probably be a tall order. Maybe Kate Winslet in the Titanic era, with red hair. But she’s probably too beautiful. Someone who’s more cute than beautiful… ? I’ll take suggestions. Haha! As for the male characters, I have a thing for the tall, dark and handsome type so I think Colin O’Donoghue would make a good Sean. If you don’t know who that is, feast your eyes!!!

There’s another male character, Benji, and in my head, he’s Gavin DeGraw… maybe Gavin could make his acting debut??? πŸ˜‰

My elevator pitch:
Since I haven’t finished the first draft, I really haven’t gotten to a pitch yet. But here’s a rough go at it!

Adrienne Grimes is thirty-seven and happily single until she meets a man she instantly connects with. The jaded “old maid” begins to wonder if Sean Bradford could be the man of her dreams– until she finds out he’s in a long-term relationship with a co-worker. And then there’s Benji, who Adrienne first suspects is nothing more than a one-night stand. Against her better judgment, though, she begins to develop real feelings for Benji. She can’t help but wonder, if she’s so happy being single, why is she now torn between two great men?

Something like that, anyway. πŸ˜€

Will your book be represented by a publisher or self-published?
Hopefully, I’ll get my current ms published with the help of an agent and can follow that up with “Old Maid,” but we’ll see! πŸ˜€

How long did it take you to write the first draft?
Seeing as how this is a WIP, that seems an odd question but OK! I started this story in March or April, so I’ve been working on it off and on for about eight months. I’m hoping to have a draft finished by the end of the year or early 2013.

What other books compare in your genre?
Jennifer Weiner is my hero, and I strive to write even half as well as she does. So I think/hope if you like her books, you would like mine. My work is also similar to that of Mary Kay Andrews, who writes women’s fiction set in the South.

Who or what inspired your book?
As I said above, my own life inspired this book. If you can’t laugh at yourself, what good is that? πŸ™‚

What else about the book might pique the readers’ interest?
I think even if you’re married with kids, you’d find Adrienne’s story appealing and interesting, and again, hopefully humorous. I try to write “realistic” romances, which is why this book is about a single woman. Ha!

And so now I am tagging: my critique partner Karma Brown, and fellow writers-in-waiting, Cheyenne Campbell, Dannie Morin and Cynthia Hill. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Old Maid sounds really good! I hope the rest of your drafting/revisions go well and that you’re able to get it (and Going Home Again) published. Oh, and I had to laugh at your answer to what actress would play your heroine. I have exactly the same problem. Are there any real-looking women in Hollywood?

Leave a Reply

