Thanksgiving Blog Hop… Thankful Thursday

As many of you know, I’m a fan of New Kids on the Block, and us “Blockheads” have a thing on Twitter that we call #ThankfulThursday, where BHs tweet what they’re thankful for. I don’t usually participate, because I’m more of a “thankful every day” kind of person, but when I saw that a fabulous writer, Brenda Drake, has a Thanksgiving blog hop, I thought, hey, I will definitely participate! 😀

If I wrote about all the things I am truly grateful for, this blog would be 100,000 pages long, so I will do it in stages. 🙂

First of all, even though I am at home sick today, I am thankful to have a home that’s heated and comfortable to be home sick in. Earlier this week, our heat wasn’t working properly but thankfully it’s working now! And, of course, I can’t help but think of all those still suffering in the Northeast from the effects of Hurricane Sandy and now a nor’easter. A native of North Carolina, I’ve been through more than my fair share of hurricanes and I’ve been through a snow and ice storm that knocked my power out, leaving me with no heat, plus ice and snow on the ground outside and temperatures in the teens and 20s. In other words, one of the most miserable nights of my life. And for people to be going through days of that, it hurts my heart.

I’m also thankful for my family. I live with my twin sister and five-year-old niece, Adeline, and my twin sister is my best friend. I’m glad we have each other to lean on. She’s helped me out a ton while I’ve been sick and I’ve done the same for her. She’s a writer, too, and when I pray for myself to find an agent and a fantabulous book deal, I pray the same for her. One day, you WILL see her thriller, A SCARRED MIND, on bookshelves and in eReaders, even if you don’t see mine. I know it. Because she’s that good!!! 🙂

I’m also very thankful for the rest of my family, especially my parents. They were a little strict with us growing up, but I know they helped make me who I am. Here’s a pic of them dancing in their living room. Awww… 🙂

I’m also thankful for Twitter, weird as that may sound. I’ve met so many wonderful friends, not only fellow Blockheads, but now, several wonderful writing friends as well. I love you all, and could never even begin to start naming names because I know I would leave someone out and feel bad!!! Twitter has also brought me closer to my favorite New Kid, Jordan Knight. 😀 As delusional as that may sound, he followed my BH account @abs1399 in 2009, and him following me helped him to remember me the next couple of times I met him in person, which was AMAZING and something I never could have expected. Of course, I don’t think he remembers me now, but I’m so grateful for the experiences with him that wouldn’t have been possible without Twitter. I also have found critique partners and even potential agents to query through Twitter. So it could conceivably help me find the agent who’s going to represent me, too. Pretty amazing for a social networking site!

Okay, now it’s time for a nap! I will definitely be writing more thankful blogs later. Thanksgiving may be my favorite holiday. Not only for my mom’s UNBELIEVABLY DELICIOUS turkey and dressing, but also because it forces people to think about things they’re thankful for in their lives, and ideally, stop complaining about what they don’t have.

Too often, Thanksgiving gets lost in the Christmas hub-bub, but I make damn sure to celebrate it to the fullest. Two weeks from today!!! Woohoo!!!! 😀 Viva la Gobble Gobble.

PS- Here’s the link to Brenda’s blog hop! http://brenleedrake.blogspot.com/2012/11/thanksgiving-blog-hop-thankful-time.html?spref=tw

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Blog Hop… Thankful Thursday

  1. Found you via Brenda’s blog hop (which I’m a part of too!). I totally agree about the sister thing. I have two (plus two brothers!) and I am the person I am today because of them! Having a supportive family is amazing!

    Look forward to reading more of your “thankful” posts during the hop!

  2. I’m sorry you were sick and hope you are feeling better. I love my family too. They are the best. I’ve got a sister who lives near me and a brother who lives far away in Texas. I miss him so much! I love that they will be with my always 🙂

    p.s. I also love Twitter– what a supportive community!

  3. That is so cool that you and your twin both write – built in CPs! I’m hopping along the blog hop trail. Twitter is great for stalking agents isn’t it? Hope you’re feeling better in time to stuff yourself with stuffing (that’s what we call “dressing” here in the northeast corner).

Leave a Reply

