Thanksgiving Blog Hop – People I’ve Never Met (But Would Love To!)

A week from today, it’s Thanksgiving! My favorite holiday! I shall be stuffing myself silly with my mom’s AMAZING turkey and dressing and lots of other goodies and I cannot wait! πŸ˜€ I also haven’t seen my parents in over a month so I’m really looking forward to spending a long weekend with them, too.

But since it’s a week from Thanksgiving, I got to thinking about more things that I am thankful for, that I didn’t mention in previous blogs. One thing that came to mind is all the amazing people I have gotten to know through Twitter and how they’ve influenced my life and my writing. Many of them, I’ve been lucky to meet in person, but a lot of them I haven’t. So I thought I’d use this blog to express my gratefulness for these people, who I’ve never even been in the same room with, but who have positively influenced me.

In no particular order!

1. My critique partners, Kyra Lennon and Karma Brown– I know, I know. I talk about them a lot. That’s because they’re friggin’ awesome!!! πŸ˜€ Kyra helped me make my manuscript soooo much better, and has encouraged me to keep going with it when I wanted to give it up and work on something else. Even though she’s in the UK, and maybe because she’s in the UK!, she’s given me ideas I never would’ve thought of otherwise, and we’ve found so many similarities in our personalities and experiences! Karma, on the other hand, has also given me some great ideas and at least twice now, we’ve both talked the other “down from the ledge” of wanting to throw our hands up and give up for good on our respective manuscripts. We’ve both had our hopes up, by full requests from literary agents, only to receive nothing but rejections (SO FAR). Kyra and Karma, in addition to having similar names, are both amazing writers and I truly enjoy reading their work. Kyra’s books are available now on amazon.com, and Karma’s will be soon! I love you guys!!

2. Karina Tabron– This girl is more than a decade younger than I am, but has been through so much in her life already and is one of the strongest women I know. She’s beaten cancer, twice, and is one of the sweetest, most positive people ever. We’ve been friends via Twitter for over a year now, and it feels like we’ve known each other forever, even though we haven’t yet met. She was one of the people who read my contemporary romance, GOING HOME AGAIN, when it was an epic-length 150,000 words, and she was so positive about the story and the characters, yet at the same time, offered me real suggestions for changing the story to make it even better. I feel so strongly about Karina, or Rina as I call her, that I named the main character’s best friend in my OLD MAID WIP after her. πŸ™‚ If I ever get published– and I hope I do– you can bet you’ll find Rina’s name in the acknowledgements.

3. Brenda Drake and Deanna Barnhardt– These two women are the queens of writing contests. Deanna did the first one I was a part of, GUTGAA, and it helped me to find my awesome critique partners so for that, I am forever grateful! I can’t even remember how I found Brenda, but I’ve participated in several of her contests now and have grown to adore her. She spends so much time helping other writers through contests that I wonder when she has time to write her own stuff! Next up is Pitch Wars, and if you’re an aspiring-to-be-published writer like myself, you should totally check it out! You can find a mentor (published or agented author) to help shine up your pitch and get it ready to submit to agents. An amazing opportunity. πŸ™‚ Info here, if you don’t have it already! http://brenleedrake.blogspot.com/2012/11/pitch-wars-take-cover-its-coming_14.html Brenda also started this Thanksgiving Blog Hop! πŸ™‚

4. My favorite writers, Dean Koontz and Jennifer Weiner– Yes, I know, very different writers, but Dean Koontz wrote the first “real” books I read at about age 12, and I still think he is one of the best writers out there, of any genre. He creates such lovable characters and puts them in such horrifying circumstances. Even though I don’t think I have it in me to write thrillers/suspense/horror, he’s been a huge influence on my writing. Jennifer Weiner is also another huge influence. If I could write even half as well as she does, I’d be happy. I love her humor, her characters, her dialogue, her stories… I love everything about her!! If I ever got to meet either of these writers, I don’t even know what I would say.

5. My future agent– I don’t know yet who you are, but I know you’re out there. And whenever I finally find you, you will love my writing and be my biggest champion. You will help me craft my writing into something better and help me live my dream. I truly believe you exist so just find me already!!! πŸ˜‰

There are probably many more that I could mention but these are the ones who sprang to mind first.

Viva la Gobble Gobble! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Blog Hop – People I’ve Never Met (But Would Love To!)

  1. Twitter and other social media certainly has opened up a great world for writers. It’s fun to connect with others. Hope you get to meet some of your cyber friends some day.

Leave a Reply

