A new hope…

It’s been a while since I wrote a blog, so here goes… over the past week or so, I’ve come to a decision about the contemporary romance manuscript I’ve been spending most of 2012 trying to get agented and published. Even though I had help from some amazing critique partners, beta readers and my latest and greatest group of writing friends, The OffBeats, I’ve decided it’s time to shelve “Going Home Again.” 😦 At least for now.

My critique partners and OffBeats helped me to craft an amazing query and pitch for agents. I’ve been blessed enough to submit a full manuscript to two agents and a partial to two agents, all of whom passed on it for various reasons. All those reasons combined to make me realize I don’t have another rewrite in me. The story isn’t as strong as I wish it could be nor as strong as the characters and my readers deserve. That’s not to say that I might not come back to it at some point and revamp it and make it awesome after some time away, but as for right now, I’m laying Alyssa Jones and Michael Day to rest. It’s sad. But I think it’s what needs to happen.

Instead, I’m focusing on my new manuscript, which I’ve not gotten very far in, but which I’m passionate about and confident in. It’s a young adult novel, which I’ve never tried to write before… at least not since I was a young adult. 😉 It has a strong paranormal element, which is also something I’ve never tried to write. So this is all new for me, but maybe it’ll turn out to be the one that gets me noticed and gets me an agent. I’m open-minded. 😀

I’ve never been one to jump on a bandwagon, and God knows, YA is growing by leaps and bounds in the publishing world. The vast majority of writers I know are YA writers, which is positive, because that gives me more constructive input and support, but also negative, because it also means more writers I have to compete against and stand out from. So I was hesitant to even try to write a YA novel, but the characters and idea got in my head and wouldn’t leave me alone until I started writing it. I actually can’t wait to share it with my CPs, beta readers and the OffBeats, and hopefully someday, with the whole world!

So, my dream of getting an agent in 2012 won’t be realized. But I’m hopeful for 2013 to be the best year ever. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A new hope…

  1. Huge *hugs*. Shelving a book is such a difficult decision, but sometimes it’s for the best. I had to do the same with my YA thriller. I spent the better part of a year revising, querying, revising, querying, etc. I finally had to shelve it in favor of writing my most recent MS because, like you said, there are only so many rewrites in us. But remember that book won’t be for naught – I’m sure it taught you a TON, right?

    Good luck on your new WIP! Here’s to making 2013 the best year ever. 😀

  2. While this is sad news, I knew it was coming. As your first CP, I know your new WIP is awesome! I love your YA voice and the story and can’t wait to hear what others think! Of course I don’t read a lot of YA so I can’t say but I know a good story when I see it. Best of luck, wombie! 😀

  3. Abs,

    Aw! I really liked your characters and thought your book was really cute. You gotta do what you gotta do. Good luck and pray the next one will exceed your expectations.

    Hugs,
    Rose

  4. I have a whole shelf of…shelved books. Sad but true. Each taught me something new. I hope to breathe fresh life into them at some point, when I’m a rich, famous writer with plenty of spare time!

Leave a Reply

