My Top 13 Moments of 2013

Well, it’s about that time. πŸ™‚ Since it’s New Year’s Eve, I find myself reflecting on the year past and reliving many wonderful moments. I remember that at the start of 2013, I deemed it “The Year of Abs.” πŸ˜‰ In many ways, it was. I finally realized my lifelong dream of publishing a novel and I had the best birthday I can remember. I also met many great new friends and had lots of unforgettable moments that made this year very special. So…here we go. Enjoy!Β 

13. Jordan Knight took a picture of us… WITH MY CELL PHONE.Β 

Anyone who knows me, knows I love New Kids on the Block and that Jordan Knight is my favorite. I have been fortunate enough to meet him several times, and I got to meet him again on June 19, 2013 when New Kids played Charlotte. My meet & greet (5* for the Blockheads) was okay, not really great. It was rushed. He seemed kind of blah; barely smiled at me. The three-second photo op at the after party wasn’t much better. I told him I felt like shit and to be nice to me because of it. Haha. I really wasn’t feeling well. But he didn’t have time to respond and was probably thinking WTF? So, I was still pretty bummed. Luckily, a few minutes into the party, he came down to the fans and started taking pictures. I didn’t even ask. He just took my cell phone and did this:Β 
After party- me & Jordan

12.Β The Boston Strong concert. πŸ˜‰Β 
I still have no idea why this wasn’t televised nationwide, but the fact that my boys New Kids on the Block turned it out at the Boston Strong concert AND performed with Aerosmith was amazing. They sang “Come Together”! Jordan wore one of Stephen Tyler’s scarves!! They sang with Dropkick Murphys! Bell Biv DeVoe! “One Sweet Day” with Boyz II Men!!! It was epic in every sense of the word.

11.Β My mom said the words “Pootie Tang” and “gangsta”.Β 
This may seem like a joke but I am completely serious. This was one of the most fantastic moments EVER, let alone the year 2013. On Christmas Day, my family and I played ’90s Trivial Pursuit. My mom didn’t want to play, so she ended up reading the questions. When she said the words, “What… *long pause* gangsta? rapper…” My life was made. “Pootie Tang” was also one of the answers, and when she said those words, it was epic. Not to overuse that word, but OMG it was fantastic.

10. New Kids on the Block released “10”Β 
One of their best albums ever, if not THE best. It may not have gotten the fanfare of “The Block” in 2008 and definitely not “Hangin’ Tough” in 1988, but this album is quality stuff. I wish they had sung more of these songs on tour this summer. My favorite is “Jealous (Blue)”… next time I see them, they BETTER sing that song!
DAMN.....

9. The Red Sox won the World Series!!!!! At Fenway!!
Just like anyone who knows me knows that I’m a Blockhead, anyone who knows me well also knows I’m a lifelong Red Sox fan. I really can’t remember how it came about; just that at some point, my older brother asked me and my twin sister Amy which team we’d like to root for and for whatever reason, we said the Boston Red Sox. It just stuck. And the fact that my favorite group is from Boston just seems like it was meant to be! πŸ˜‰ Not to mention my favorite NASCAR driver has also driven a Red Sox car, and his team is affiliated with the Red Sox. I’ll never forget watching them win it all for the first time since 1918 in 2004, but something about this year was even more special. Maybe it was because of the Boston Marathon bombing earlier in the year. Maybe it was because it was in Fenway. Maybe it was because of the guys that were on the champion team. Whatever it was, this year meant more than any of the others. I’m so proud to be a Red Sox fan!!!!
1002916_10151697407216766_180487387_n

8.Β I discovered the magic that is… Property Brothers. πŸ˜€
I have always loved HGTV, but this year, on the way back from summer vacation, I happened upon this wonderful show called “Property Brothers” in a hotel in Nashville. These adorable twin brothers renovate old homes to create people’s dream homes on a budget. Drew is a realtor, and Jonathan is a contractor. They’re cute, funny and Jonathan has the most amazing designs. I fell in love with this show!! If you don’t watch it, you should. Just sayin’. (Also, Jonathan is my future husband… he just doesn’t know it yet!)
255169_227441203952618_7755043_n

7. One of said Property Brothers tweeted me… three times! πŸ™‚

That says it all, yes? πŸ™‚ Watch out, Jordan Knight!!! πŸ˜€ (Well, it’s not like he said he loves me, but at least he responded unlike many celebrities!)

6. My parents celebrated their 50th anniversary!
Such a milestone for them, and they didn’t want a big celebration. We just had a small party with my brother and sisters and all their kids at my brother’s house. And there was cake. Yay to my daddy for making the best decision of his life and yay for my mom for putting up with my daddy for half a century!!! LOL

Parents 50th
(Can you see from the pic why it was so funny to hear my mom say “Pootie Tang”???)

5. I had various epiphanies that have changed my life.
I’m a very private person so I won’t go into too much detail, but suffice it to say, I finally figured a few things out and I am much happier. πŸ™‚
Β 
4. The Longest Day for the Alzheimer’s Association.Β 
So my twin sister, me and some friends created a Blockheads team for the Longest Day on June 21, which benefited the Alzheimer’s Association. And this happened:

And then a few minutes later, this:
Joe's donation

The tweet was awesome enough, because it helped us not only reach, but surpass our fundraising goal, but for him to donate himself, well, I can’t even really put it into words. It was amazing!!!

3. I had the best birthday celebration EVER.Β 
Even though I didn’t get the ultimate VIP I wanted (an individual meet and greet with NKOTB) for my birthday, I did have a regular 5* meet and greet again, and after the way Charlotte had gone, I have to say my expectations were LOW. However, Jordan was in a much better mood this time, and when I told him it was my birthday, he looked so touched. ❀ He squeezed my shoulder and said, "Happy Birthday!" and then he wiggled my Red Sox hat. It was so cute. He paid extra attention to me during the show, too. It was, without a doubt, the BEST birthday EVER!!!
STL 5star
(Not the greatest picture but a great experience!)

2. I formed a friendship that I know will last the rest of my life.Β 
I made a lot of wonderful friends this year, but with all respect and love to them, my new friend Ashley McGraw is one of the best things that’s happened to me. She supports me when I’m feeling down, and we talk all day, every day through texts or IMs. We haven’t met in person yet, but I can’t wait until we do! She’s the best!!! Love you girl! ❀

1. I published my first novel!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is already way too long and I’ve written so many blogs, but publishing my first novel and finally getting to hold MY BOOK in my hands was an indescribable feeling. Now that I’ve accomplished what was a lifelong goal, I’m determined to realize more dreams. Hopefully one of these days, I’ll write another novel and get it published too. Stay tuned! πŸ˜€

One thought on “My Top 13 Moments of 2013

Leave a Reply

